Posted on

Lecture Pritzker Price 2012, Why Wang Shu?

Lecture by Martijn de Geus, Master of Architecture (Tsinghua University, Beijing)

Background and overview of contemporary Chinese Architecture seen from a conceptual historic perspective.
Introducing China’s rising architects, amongst which:
– Ma Yansoong first Chinese to win competition abroad (2006)
– Li Xiaodong first Chinese that wins Aga Khan (2010) and as AIA honorable member (2012)
– Wang Shu first Chinese Pritzker Prize (2012)

What is their background, their current context and what can we expect next?

March 30th, 2012
12.45 – 13.45 (Lunch Lecture!)